Adventures in Making (Almost) Everything from Scratch

Mmmmmmmm muffins

Hey my fellow lentees! (Yeah I just made that one up)

So with the second full week behind us, it’s finally sinking in that I am really NOT eating processed foods (in the beginning I would catch myself grabbing stuff like salad dressing and mayonnaise before I’d realize we weren’t eating that and have to put it back in the fridge!).  Now I’m more cognisant of everything, even ordering a coffee from Starbucks has me asking “What kind of cream is in that?”  

We’ve even had to start making all our own wheat products from scratch, and that I can tell you would be next to impossible without the help of my wonderful husband.  Thank goodness I was smart enough to marry a man who can cook!  I knew I was going to start making my own healthy muffins and bread again, but I use the bread maker and even then it’s hit or miss as to whether it’s actually going to turn into bread or a big crumbly, hard lump of sticky flour.  But here comes Andy to the rescue!  And thankfully he’s really embraced this non processed food kick because I don’t even want to imagine how difficult this would be without him behind me all the way. 

The other day we were talking to the kids about what they’d like for dinner, and as per usual the answer was “Tacos!”  We have been making our own taco filling from scratch for a while now because we don’t like all the salt and preservatives in the packaged stuff.  We put in finely chopped garlic and onion, add tomato paste and chilli powder, cumin, cayenne, salt and pepper, cook it in with the ground meat (this time it was venison) and voila, healthy taco filling!  As it so happens, we had some leftover in the freezer, so I took it out and was about to start dinner when I realized, we can’t have tortilla shells!  Every brand I’ve looked at (like all bread products) has preservatives to extend their shelf life.  So I suggested taco salad as an alternative, not as filling but I’m sure we’d survive.  Andy decides he’s going to make corn tortillas to go with dinner.  I told him he didn’t have to go through all the trouble, I’m thinking this is going to be an all day affair and we’d be eating at 9pm that night!  But he assured me they would be ready in less than an hour.  And low and behold, an hour later, we had corn tortillas with our tacos.  And although they were a little smaller than store bought tortillas, they tasted fabulous! 

He’s also started making all our own pasta, I mentioned the cheese stuffed ravioli in my last post, this week he made tagliatelle and it was amazing!  The thing I can’t believe is now that he’s making pasta more often, how fast he is at it!  Fresh pasta now takes as long as it takes to prepare a homemade sauce, usually no more than 30 – 45 minutes.  And if you’ve never had fresh homemade pasta, I HIGHLY recommend trying it, maybe some rainy weekend with a lovely homemade sauce that you’ve simmered all day, or in a nice lasagne, mmmm!  The flavour and texture are so much better.

Our next baking experiment is my mom’s homemade English muffins which we’ve been meaning to make since she gave me the recipe at Thanksgiving but have just been too busy or lazy to try…until now!  We’ll keep you posted!  Have a great week!

P.S. Lots of bread, muffin, pasta, tortilla and pizza dough recipes to follow

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Making (Almost) Everything from Scratch

Leave a Reply

